top of page

Colours in Dreams 

Linda Dion
October 29, 2023

Revised edition

God is light and in Him there is absolutely no hint of darkness.  Everything that He created shares in that light and reflects His glory and because He wished to show forth His multi-faceted nature, He created a world in colour so that each colour would become a reflection of His divine attributes.  All the colours of creation are messengers of that light, speaking to us something of the nature of our Father who found much delight in creating beautiful things for us to see.

Because Marcel and I wanted to witness to God's beauty of creation, we chose to build our website with lots of colour, because frankly, there seems to be so much black in the world today!

Since colours are part of creation, people through the millenia of human existence have come to use them in many symbolic ways to express certain realities of their lives.  For example, as Catholics, we use different colours for the liturgy that express not only a different season in the church but also different spiritual realities such as purple for Lent and green for ordinary time.  

We also use colours in our choice of expressions such as "being yellow", which means that a person is lacking in courage or "having a green thumb" which points to a gift of making things grow or "being green with envy", "being the black sheep", "out of the blue", "tickled pink", "seeing red", "this is a grey area", "a white lie", "once in a blue moon" and many others.  As soon as we hear these expressions, they trigger an understanding in us.

In this post we would like to put before you the positive symbolism of colours but also the negative ones.  Because of the Fall, what was once perfect is no longer so and consequently colours now symbolize not only the goodness of God but also the evil of the enemy.  So dreams that contain colours that are rich and deep will usually come from God whereas dreams that have dull or dark colours usually come from the devil or from our own souls.  Of course, what we have listed down below is not exhaustive of all the possibilities, but it will help you get a head start in deciphering your dreams with greater clarity if it is clear that colour plays a significant role in the message.

Isaiah 1:18

'Come, let us talk this over,' says Yahweh.

'Though your sins are like scarlet,

they shall be white as snow;

though they are red as crimson, 

they shall be like wool.

Revelation 4: 2-4,6

I saw a throne standing in heaven, and the One who was sitting on the throne, and the One sitting there looked like a diamond and a ruby.  There was a rainbow encircling the throne, and this looked like an emerald. Round the throne in a circle were twenty-four thrones, and on them twenty-four elders sitting, dressed in white robes with golden crowns on their heads...In front of the throne was a sea as transparent as crystal.



(+) Glory and presence of God.

(-) False glory.  Self glory. Pride.



    (+) Compassion. Humility. 

Pastoral nurturing. 

 (-) Compromise (situational ethics).  Humanism. Dried out.



    (+) Conscience (spiritual perception).

Growth. Prosperity. Health. Life.

(-) Envy. Pride. Jealousy.

Bitterness. Gossip.



(+) Childlikeness. Love. Innocence.

Combination of red and white colours.

(-) Childishness. Immaturity.

Of the flesh. 




(+) Wisdom.  Anointing. Power.

Blood of Jesus. Atonement.


(-) War.  Anger. Death. Sin. Bloodshed.




    (+) Mysterious. Hidden. Unknown.  

  Formality. Elegance.

  Undercover activity.
(-) Death. Evil. Famine. Sin.



    (+) Will. Perseverance.

    Deals with issues of the soul. 

(-) Strong-willed. 



    (+) Maturity. Honour. Respect.

    Mind. Intellectual understanding.

  (-) Weakness. Death. Sadness.

Compromise. Deception.



(+) Royalty.  Kingship. Majesty.

 Given authority.

(-) Demanded/False authority.

Arrogance. Sensuality.



(+) Purity. Holiness. Righteousness.

Triumph. Joy. Innocence.

(-) Religious spirit. Legalism.

Sterile. Cold.




   (+) Revelation. Communion with God. Prophetic. Healing. Peace  

(-) Depression. Emotional lows.

Sorrow. Anxiety. Loneliness. Despair.




(+) Purity. Loyalty. Holy.

Of immense spiritual worth. Favour.

(-) Idolatry. Greed.

Defilement. Lawlessness.




  (+) Perseverance.

 Energy. Enthusiasm.

  (-) Stubbornness. Rebellion.



    (+) Redemption. Grace. Atonement.


  (-) Legalism. Self-righteousness.




(+) Hope. Faith. Strength. Gifts.

Renewed mind.

(-) Fear. Pride. Lack of courage.

Timidity. Intellectualism.

Finally, please view the videos below.  Marcel did a great job of them.  I myself find it helpful to hear different people explain the same symbols since they might do it just a little differently or put the emphasis on another point; and that helps to make the explanation stick in our minds.

Dream Colours Part One.png
Dream Colour Part Two.png
bottom of page